LANGUAGE:

Happy Guest Reviews

#1 Inn and B&B in Shelburne, VT as Rated on TripAdvisor!

Reviews

Happy Guest Reviews

Why They Call Us The Best

Happy Guest Reviews Heart of the Village Inn Shelburne VT

We strive to offer our guests the best of Vermont Bed & Breakfast experience when they stay with us, and our TripAdvisor, Google+, and Facebook reviews show it!

Read below to learn why our guests love staying at the Heart of the Village Inn and why you will, too!

       


The Vibe

Our Victorian house has a warm, welcoming atmosphere that will make you feel right at home from the start. The rooms are spotless, the beds are comfy, and we’ve got different sizes and styles of rooms to accommodate whatever it is you’re looking for. Plus, we think you’ll find that our other guests are pretty cool, too. Between conversations over breakfast or run-ins throughout your stay, there are plenty of opportunities to get to know the other folks that are staying at the inn. 

“I travel around the world extensively, staying at various accommodations, The Heart of the Village Inn was the best I ever had.” – KennethProtocol, Alliston, Canada

“You can tell that the owners treasure their Victorian home, which they’ve done up with both antiques and modern art – a thoughtful blend that works – and enjoy Shelburne itself.” – Barbara M., Brooklyn, NY

The Location

You just can’t beat our location. When you stay with us, you’ll be steps away from everything Shelburne has to offer – the Shelburne Museum, the Shelburne Farm, restaurants, shopping, breweries, and wineries. You name it, and there’s a good chance you can walk to it from our inn. And, if you run out of stuff to do in Shelburne, you’re in luck! We’re also a quick fifteen-minute drive away from downtown Burlington.

“Although we booked for three nights we were able to see more attractions because of the location. If you like to walk, you can literally walk to most of them since they are within four miles of the Inn.” – wilco23661, Middleboro, Massachusetts

The Breakfast

Here at Heart of the Village Inn, we put the “breakfast” in Bed and Breakfast. Every evening, we’ll ask you to note down your custom breakfast requests, and we’ll be busy cooking you up a delicious meal first thing in the morning. The list of possibilities is enormous – from Eggs Benedict (crafted in a variety ways) to blueberry pancakes topped with local Vermont maple syrup. It might sound crazy, but we’re not afraid to say it: we serve some of the best breakfast in the world. And if you don’t believe us, you should come try it for yourself!

“There are no words to describe how much we looked forward to the scrumptious meal in the morning! […] I highly recommend the eggs benedict and my husband claims he has never had better blueberry pancakes in his life!” – shduff2017, Florida

“Breakfast every morning was unbelievable ... I’m not sure what was more impressive, the quality of the food or the presentation! Every dish was delicious AND beautifully displayed.” – Samantha M.

The Cool Hosts

And, last but not least, you’ll get to stay with some pretty cool hosts – us! We’re here to make sure that your stay in our home and in our town is the best it can possibly be. Need some recommendations of places to go and things to see? Come talk to us. Want to just come chat about life in Shelburne? We’d love to get to know you during a casual light-hearted chat. Plus, we hook our guests up with goodies, like coupons to local wineries and insider info.

“The owners were friendly and warm but also gave us time to be alone and chill out. A nice combination.” – Kathleen K.

“Rose and Anatoly make everyone feel at home and are just the perfect hosts. We loved every minute of our stay and would absolutely return and recommend anyone stay at Heart of the Village.” – Kathryn D., New York


And here's a selection of our most favorite reviews!

TripAdvisor Happy Guest Reviews Heart of the Village Inn

Jan 10, 2018
Warm Hospitality at a Charming Inn
On a recent five-day visit with family two towns over, I stayed at Heart of the Village Inn for the first time. Despite all the excellent reviews, this delightful Inn exceeded expectations. My ground-floor Carriage House room was spacious, with lovely linens and a very comfortable bed. Excellent bathroom, great storage, and thoughtful details throughout. Everything immaculately clean. I put the room refrigerator to good use. (Did you know that Vermont drugstores sell craft beer?) Within easy walking distance you'll find a drug store (!), book store, coffee/wine shop (it transitions during the day), two restaurants, and the Vermont Country Store. I've left the best for last: the breakfasts are all that. Five days only took me through half the menu -- all delicious, and great prep for whatever adventures await. Rose and Anatoly have created an excellent B and B experience and I look forward to returning soon. - ReginaD614

Jan 05, 2018
Stumbled across this gem looking for a romantic getaway. So glad we did.
Had the best experience at our stay at Heart of the Village with our Inn keepers Anatoly and Rose being so wonderful and gracious hosts. Our stay in the Carriage house, the Webb Room, was spacious and the Jacuzzi was nice touch. The breakfast was as beautiful as it was delicious and was the perfect sendoff to the day’s adventures. . The town was charming and the restaurants and atmosphere were fantastic. Will definitely be back and highly recommend this inn if you looking to get away for a romantic stay. - Shawn D

 

Jan 01, 2018
A wonderful, brief "staycation"
We decided to give ourselves a treat without travel for New Year's Eve and chose to stay at the Heart of the Village Inn with some friends. Our stay began with a warm welcome and visit with our hosts, Anatoly and Rose, and a complimentary glass of wine. While I have to admit we knew the Innkeepers and the Inn as fellow local business people with whom we'd collaborated on projects since they purchased the Inn several years ago and we'd always admired the Inn, our visit was our own inspiration and idea for a low travel respite from the typical New Years Eve frenzy. Despite the holiday, we felt welcome and not at all rushed. Once we'd seen our rooms, each charming and individually decorated, we took some time to relax with our friends in one of the common rooms before heading out to a local restaurant for dinner. Our room was comfortable and cozy. It was such fun and really charming to see scenes of the classic small town we live in through almost every window of the Inn--views of the small Vermont town we'd lived in for almost 50 years, but only seen before looking from the outside in and not through a window. We awoke on New Year's Day to Anatoly's delicious home cooked breakfast of local food we had chosen from an enticing menu the night before. We enjoyed it with our friends and got to know some other guests at the next table. Before we stayed here we always recommended that our visiting friends and customers at our own local business try to stay at the Heart of the Village; now that we've done it ourselves, we'll do it even more enthusiastically. Thanks Anatoly and Rose for a great visit. - gail a

Nov 28, 2017
Week-end Stay for birthday celebration
Lovely inn with great breakfasts. Hosts are warm and charming. Convenient to Burlington and in the warmer months the Shelburne Museum is not to be missed!!
We had visited previously in the Spring and loved sitting on the side porch in rocking chairs. - Dr.Judila

Nov 18, 2017
Rose and Anatoly are amazing humans. They do everything they can to ensure each guest has a fantastic experience. Vermont is beautiful anytime of the year and I highly recommend a visit here. - Stephen Bones

Nov 01, 2017
A 40th Anniversary to remember!
My husband and I have stayed with Rose and Anatoly several times and this time was just as spectacular as the others. We knew where we wanted to be to celebrate our special day! The Heart of the Village Inn is a unique bed and breakfast run by a couple who truly love and enjoy what they do! Seriously, welcoming people from all over the world and treating them like family takes dedication and a love of being in the hospitality business. Rose and Anatoly have taken great care in the appointments of decor and antiques that fill their beautiful Victorian home and the rooms their guests stay in. I felt welcomed and at home the moment I stepped into the house from the first time we visited. Breakfast is the Inns shining star! Anatoly is a master at making breakfast the most important meal of the day! Everything is made from locally grown products and Rose's special touches of melon cut in the shape of a heart or even a maple leaf starts your day off right! My husband and I are truly spoiled now and I doubt we will ever stay in a hotel again!
Rose and Anatoly are very knowledgeable about Shelburne and the state of Vermont and are quick to answer questions and even offer suggestions if you are looking to do something fun or even a place to enjoy a lunch or dinner that specializes in locally grown food. There is plenty of local attractions to see and visit including the Shelburne Vineyard, the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farm and the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Lincoln Peak Vineyards is just a short drive from Shelburne and if enjoying good wine is something you enjoy, you won't be disappointed!
If you have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before, make sure you read their policies before you book. Need a later or earlier check in? Rose and Anatoly are happy to try and accommodate you just remember that sometimes it might be difficult depending on time of year and how booked the Inn is. Unlike a hotel that has people coming and going; a stay at a bed and breakfast is quiet and relaxing. The Inn is located on a busy street and although there is some traffic noise, it was not enough to ruin our experience, let's face it, even the big hotel chains experience some noise from the traffic that surrounds the premise.
Yeah, you have to make your bed it’s part of staying at a bed and breakfast. Fresh towels are provided and trash is emptied daily and soaps and shampoos replaced if you need them. There’s no room service either but snacks are a must if you are so inclined! Adult beverages can be consumed in your room or if you prefer your hosts do have libations for purchase that you can enjoy while sitting in the breakfast area or living room, or your room if you prefer.
I do recommend you take a moment (weather permitting) to enjoy a steaming cup of hot tea or coffee on the beautiful porch that surrounds the house or while enjoying one of the many Adirondack chairs that grace the lawn! Rules are rules and they are there for a reason, just make sure you consult your hosts if you have any questions.
While you are there, do make time to meet the other guests! There is the breakfast area to sit and enjoy or the living room where conversation can ensue! What ever your expectations it’s nice to have a little insight before you stay! The Heart of the Village Inn will always be our slice of heaven. I hope that once you stay the first time it will be yours too. - annachaput

Oct 29, 2017
Just left the one of a kind Bed & Breakfast right in town and local to so many things like coffee shops, wine vineyards, waterfalls, downtown bars etc..
Rose and Anatoly are the best inn keepers! Like meeting old friends you haven't seen in forever and they welcome you home when you walk through the door with a glass of wine.
Even met Lucy their dog and played tug of war lol
The breakfast experience all in itself a masterpiece! So yummy and specific to your requests each morning ...so many laughs amongst us and that was hilarious... I was told it was extra if I did that . Thank you so much for a wonderful romantic experience and gorgeous room with a heavenly bed and the Jacuzzi was a added bonus in our carriage house room (:
Cannot wait to see you again in the winter and coming back to Vermont!
Sincerely, Lauren and Shawn - Lauren Jane

Oct 24, 2017
My regular home away from home in Shelburne
I regularly visit Shelburne, and I am always happy to return to The Heart of the Village Inn. Rose and Anatoly are lovely hosts and wonderful cooks. The inn is well situated with comfortable and well decorated rooms. It provides a lovely base for visiting the area or seeing family. Staying here is a treat! - PringleKL

Oct 21, 2017
Amazing Experience!
We absolutely loved our experience here! Rose and Anatoly were very warm and welcoming hosts, like old friends! We stayed in the Carriage House on the back of the property. It was very quaint and quiet! We felt right at home. The inn is very close to restaurants, breweries, wineries, and more! It’s only about 10 minutes from downtown Burlington. Breakfast every morning was unbelievable. We got to place a custom order the night before, and when we arrived for breakfast, Rose met us with a smile and a plate of fresh fruit before our meal. I’m not sure what was more impressive, the quality of the food or the presentation! Every dish was delicious AND beautifully displayed. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this inn to everyone. We’ll be back! - Samantha M

Oct 21, 2017
Cozy B&B
We arrived after a long drive and were graciously welcomed by Rose. The Inn is situated in the center of town and in a perfect location. It is lovingly cared for and meticulously clean. Our room was as pictured online and the bed was super comfortable. Our breakfast was wonderful and much care was taken in the preparation. Anatoly and Rose were fantastic hosts and we would certainly look forward to a return visit. - Barbara M

Oct 20, 2017
My husband and I were lucky enough to be invited to this beautiful inn by some friends. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so we didn't know what to expect. The owners were so welcoming and warm. We had many great conversations with them and learned a lot about the area. The breakfast was so fantastic!! Everything was cooked perfectly. The atmosphere was relaxing. I have already recommended it to many of my clients. I wish I had grabbed some business cards to hand out because my hand is tired from writing the information for people. We will definitely return. - Cindy Rocha

Oct 18, 2017
A wonderful experience. Beautiful home and excellent food. Anatoly and Rose are gracious hosts who make you feel right at home. - Bob Smith

Oct 18, 2017
Wonderful stay at Heart of the Village Inn
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Heart of the Village Inn. Anatoly and Rose are incredible hosts and have stamped this beautiful inn with their unique style. Their breakfasts are 2nd to none, with lots of choices and everything prepared to order. We stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room, The Harrington, was quiet and beautifully appointed. Our king bed was super comfortable. We will be back! - Flyinghorselady

Oct 14, 2017
Fabulous night in Shelburne
We arrived in Shelburne in the middle of 10 day fall foliage trip. We were welcomed with beverages and open arms. Our room was updated, elegant and very comfortable. We enjoyed a walk to a great dinner and a delicious breakfast the next morning. By far the most enjoyable B and B on our trip! - Linda B

Oct 11, 2017
So this past weekend my husband and I went to Vermont and stayed at a beautiful bed and breakfast -Heart of the Village Inn(all planned by him). I just wanted to say thank you to Rose and Anatoly for your hospitality. You really made it seem like home. From coming downstairs and being greeted with a good morning as if we have known each other forever, to the food-which was absolutely delicious, to the sincerity of truly caring about your guests. Thank you seems hardly enough. I have to say also that the location is ideal as well . Minutes from a winery, museum, Apple orchard, Burlington, and Lake Champlain - Beth Kleiman Koch

Oct 09, 2017
Host and Hostess convivial, communicative, and fine company
Only drawback right off Shelburne Road. The lighting, décor, amenities were all splendid. Breakfast was surpassing, bathrooms impeccable. Beautiful home and very comfortable. This experience was my best in Vermont and leaves one with a 'Wow' feeling. - patrick l

Oct 05, 2017
Best B&B on our visit
The Heart of the Village Inn was our favorite B&B on our visit to Vermont. We wanted to stay a little way away from Burlington and this was the perfect spot. The room we had at the Inn was very nice and quite. The owners were very friendly. They decorated the Inn with nice antiques but not with a lot of knick knacks. The breakfast presentation was lovely as we delicious. I have visit a lot of B& Bs and the Heart of the Village Inn is rated right at the top of my experiences! Stay there you will not be disappointed. - Traveldiive

 

Oct 03, 2017
A terrific last minute find!
When we decided at the last minute to stay an extra day in the area, we were lucky to find that Rose and Anatoly had a room for us. From the moment we booked, there was detailed and clear communication on all the arrangements. They were there to greet us when we arrived. Lovely room, welcoming and friendly hosts, delicious and inventive breakfast. We'll be back for sure! - Susan M

Oct 01, 2017
Wonderful
Room and food was awesome!!!! Attention to detail was superb. The town of Shelburne was amazing. The hosts were welcoming and attentive. The breakfast was restaurant quality!!! The B&B also provided us with valuable coupons which we used at the local winery. Top Notch experience. - Karen B

Sep 28, 2017
Lovely B&B
Our hosts, Rose and Anatoly, have thought of everything to make this an exceptional B&B. From the first friendly greeting to a goodbye hug, we were treated as if we were old friends. This elegant house, located in the center of Shelburne, is only minutes from the Shelburne Museum. Our beautifully decorated room included a comfortable bed and a small box of delectable chocolates. Our delicious breakfast was individually made to order. I have scrambled eggs made with spinach, cheese and butter - HerrStuhl

Sep 27, 2017
Fantastic Stay!
When we drove away we thought 'this is the way all B&Bs should run' - Rose and Anatoly do an excellent job communicating about the stay and go out of their way to make sure the stay is as welcoming and comfortable as possible. The food is wonderful - we could order from a delicious menu and select the time to eat - well organized and well run!! The added bonus is that we could walk to a concert at the Museum grounds - a great perk. We highly recommend and look forward to another stay. - Joy C

Sep 27, 2017
Wonderful visit, AMAZING breakfasts!!!
We arrived from Connecticut and greeted warmly by Rose and shown to our beautiful room. It was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. The Inn is located in a beautiful area of Shelburne with many activities and restaurants within walking distance. We stayed 3 nights at the Inn and the highlight each morning was breakfast. There are no words to describe how much we looked forward to the scrumptious meal in the morning! It was served in a timely manner and we never felt rushed to move along which allowed us to enjoy several cups of coffee and every delicious bite of our breakfast. I highly recommend the eggs benedict and my husband claims he has never had better blueberry pancakes in his life! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at your lovely Inn. Hope to be back again in December. - shduff2017

Google+ Happy Guest Reviews Heart of the Village Inn

Nov 10, 2016
We so enjoyed our stay with Rose and Anatoly: lovely inn, delicious breakfasts, relaxing porch with glasses of wine, but most of all, a connection with our hosts that made us feel like we were leaving friends when we checked out. - Corey Benjamin


Heart of the Village Inn Blog - Blog Directory OnToplist.com